Seven healthcare leaders selected as MediStar honorees

Seven individuals and organizations will be honored on October 29 at the thirteenth annual MediStar Awards. Held at the Muhammad Ali Center, the MediStar Awards are the region’s premier venue for recognizing excellence in the business of healthcare.

Since 2007 the MediStar Awards have honored healthcare professionals for their achievements in advocacy, innovation, education, leadership, aging, as well as announcing the Physician and Nurse of the Year. The honorees are:

The A.O. Sullivan Award for Excellence in Education
Presented to organization that takes creative approaches to developing and implementing programs, which enhance the level of knowledge, education and career opportunity in healthcare.

Leadership and Innovation in Academic Medicine (LIAM)

The Leadership in Healthcare Award
Presented to a progressive and entrepreneurial individual who is not afraid to take risks and whose job performance is considered exemplary by providers, patients and peers.

London Roth

The Hosparus Health Innovation Award
Presented to an organization that has developed a new procedure, device, service, program or treatment that improves the delivery of care.


The Bluegrass Care Navigators Aging Care Award
Presented to an organization that has advanced the level of care for the senior community through innovative methods resulting in reduced costs and improved quality of life.

Family Directed 

The Centerstone Healthcare Advocacy Award
Presented to an individual who has worked to raise awareness of health challenges in our region and worked to affect change.

Jamie Studts, PhD
UK College of Medicine

The Nurse of the Year Award
Presented to a nurse who has gone above and beyond their normal responsibilities to improve best practices and contribute to patient education.

Sue Snider, RN
Bluegrass Care Navigators

The Dean Dorton Physician of the Year Award
Presented to a physician who has shown outstanding leadership and vision and has contributed to their workplace leaving a lasting legacy.

Robert DiPaola, MD
UK College of Medicine