MediStar Awards celebrate excellence in the business of healthcare

Seven individuals and organizations were honored on October 29th at the 13th annual MediStar Awards. Held at the Muhammad Ali Center, the MediStar Awards are the region’s premier venue for recognizing excellence in the business of healthcare in Kentucky and southern Indiana.

Since 2007 the Awards have honored healthcare professionals for their achievements in advocacy, innovation, education, leadership, aging, as well as announcing the Physician and Nurse of the Year.


Honorees included:

Leadership and Innovation in Academic Medicine (LIAM)

The A.O. Sullivan Award for Excellence in Education
LIAM was developed in 2017 to provide a leadership training experience for early and mid-career faculty members at the University of Louisville School of Medicine.

London Roth, Humana

The Bingham Greenebaum Doll Leadership in Healthcare Award
London Roth leads Humana’s Louisville Bold Goal efforts, seeking to improve the city’s health 20% by 2020 by partnering with Humana employees and the community to make a difference and help improve lives.

The Hosparus Health Innovation Award
BehaVR provides a virtual reality [VR] experiences for healthcare utilize elements of mindfulness, emotion regulation and patient narratives to drive behavior change.

Family Directed – HomeHero
The Bluegrass Care Navigators Aging Care Award
The Family Directed direct hire model, and the technology platform that supports it, allows families to receive higher quality of care, pay less and compensate caregivers with a competitive wage.

Jamie Studts, PhD, UK College of Medicine
The Centerstone Healthcare Advocacy Award
Jamie Studts is working to turn Kentucky from the state with the greatest lung cancer burden into the state that has made the most progress toward eliminating the impact of lung cancer.

Sue Snider, RN, Bluegrass Care Navigators
The Nurse of the Year Award
Sue Snider is a committed leader, educator and innovator at Bluegrass Care Navigators, and at the state level, and is passionately committed to excellent patient care.

Robert DiPaola, MD, UK College of Medicine
The Dean Dorton Physician of the Year Award
As the dean of the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Robert DiPaola leads a medical education institution that’s working vigorously to combat its state’s physician shortage and provide greater, more affordable access to quality care.