Seven Counties’ Board seeks 2012 Sunrise Award nominations

Award honors those who help further mission through cooperation and collaboration

The Board of Directors of Seven Counties Services, Inc. is seeking nominations for its annual Sunrise Award. The award recognizes an individual or organization whose cooperation and collaboration over the past year has helped further the mission of Seven Counties Services: to build healthy communities by helping individuals and families who are affected by mental illness, developmental disabilities, addictions and abuse realize their potential.

Nominations are open to any person or organization in Kentucky or elsewhere. However, Seven Counties’ staff and board are not eligible for the award. Anyone may make a nomination. Nominated individuals or organizations should demonstrate exceptional cooperation or collaboration with Seven Counties and its programs, thereby helping the population served.

As the safety net provider for mental health, developmental disability and substance abuse treatment and support services, Seven Counties Services, Inc. appreciates and values those many individuals and organizations throughout its region with whom it works hand in hand to serve those in need. The strength of any effort comes not from one individual or organization, but from many people and organizations joining hands and working together for a common good. Past award winners were:

· Ms. Betty Kassulke, the fourth female warden in the KY Corrections System, and the first female warden of two male prisons, honored for her advocacy efforts on behalf of women who have been paroled and are dealing with alcohol and drug addiction.

· Central Presbyterian Church in Louisville, for opening its doors, arms and hearts to individuals in recovery from alcohol addiction and individuals with serious mental illness and creating community work opportunities for Seven Counties’ clients.

· Henry County Schools and its Family Resource and Youth Service Center, for weaving behavioral health care into all aspects of the educational experience for students and insuring that all students, regardless of income or insurance, receive the care they need.

· Judge Judith Bartholomew, Chief Judge in Jefferson District Court, honored for her involvement in the development and operation of Kentucky’s first Mental Health Court, allowing those persons diagnosed with a several mental illness to be dealt with fairly in their legal issues.

· Ms. Mary Simmons, former executive director of The Dorman Center, for providing preschool, early intervention and integrated center-based services for at-risk children in need of multiple services.

· Mr. Dennis Boyd, Legislative Liaison and Assistant to the Executive Vice President for Health Affairs at the University of Louisville, for his leadership in the community mental health field and the establishment of a regional crisis management program to serve the Louisville area.

· Louisville Metro Department of Corrections, for the department’s commitment to mental health services, as evidenced by the extraordinary staff effort of the Corizon mental health team, led by Lee Zellars.

Nomination forms are available on-line at or may be obtained via email to Additional information and forms are available by calling Dean Johnson at 502-589-8615, extension 1297. Deadline for nomination submission is Friday, August 31, 2012.


Related posts