Seven healthcare leaders selected as MediStar honorees

Seven individuals and organizations were honored on October 24 at the eleventh annual MediStar Awards. Held at the Muhammad Ali Center, the MediStar Awards are the region’s premier venue for recognizing excellence in the business of healthcare.

Since 2007 the MediStar Awards have honored healthcare professionals for their achievements in advocacy, innovation, education, leadership, aging, as well as announcing the Physician and Nurse of the Year. The night’s winners were:

Evan Dillow, KHCC, with Jan Gordon, Spencerian College

The A.O. Sullivan Award for Excellence in Education
Presented to organization that takes creative approaches to developing and implementing programs, which enhance the level of knowledge, education and career opportunity in healthcare.

Kentucky Health Career Center



Mark Carter, Passport Health Plan; Rene Savarise and Dan Fisher, Bingham Greenebaum Doll

The Bingham Greenebaum Doll Leadership in Healthcare Award
Presented to a progressive and entrepreneurial individual who is not afraid to take risks and whose job performance is considered exemplary by providers, patients and peers.

Mark Carter
Passport Health Plan




Liz Edghill, Family Health Centers, Kerry Harvey (left) and Andrew Sparks (right), Dickinson Wright

The Dickinson Wright Nurse of the Year Award
Presented to a nurse who has gone above and beyond their normal responsibilities to improve best practices and contribute to patient education.

Elizabeth Edghill
Family Health Centers




Peggy King, Signature HealthCARE (left) and Cassie Mitchell, Bluegrass Care Navigators

The Bluegrass Care Navigators Aging Care Award
Presented to an organization that has advanced the level of care for the senior community through innovative methods resulting in reduced costs and improved quality of life.

Signature  HealthCARE 





Rob Edwards (left) with Amanda Newton, Centerstone

The Centerstone Healthcare Advocacy Award
Presented to an individual or organization that has worked to raise awareness of health challenges in our region and worked to affect change.

Robert Edwards
UK HealthCare 



Senator Ralph Alvarado, MD (left) with Jeff Amrein, Extract Wellness

The Extract Wellness Physician of the Year Award
Presented to a physician who has shown outstanding leadership and vision and has contributed to their workplace leaving a lasting legacy.

Ralph Alvarado, MD
State Senator




The Kentucky Life Sciences Council Healthcare Innovation Award
Presented to an organization that has developed a new procedure, device, service, program or treatment that improves the delivery of care.

Inscope Medical