Seven honorees chosen for the tenth annual MediStar Awards

honoree_banner_2016Judging is complete and the results are in.  a panel of expert judges has selected seven healthcare leaders as MediStar honorees.

We are excited to have these leaders join the MediStar Award family, an elite group of healthcare leaders. They can feel proud knowing that they have contributed wisdom, knowledge, talents and heart to the provision of excellence in healthcare.

Their contributions to excelling the business of healthcare will be recognized and celebrated at the tenth annual MediStar Awards! The seven honorees will be recognized at the award ceremony on Tuesday, October 25th at the Muhammad Ali Center in Louisville, Kentucky.

Held for the first time at the Muhammad Ali Center in Louisville, Ky., the MediStar Awards are the region’s premier venue for recognizing excellence in the business of healthcare.

The honorees include:

The A.O. Sullivan Award for Excellence in Education
Presented to an organization that takes creative approaches to developing and implementing programs, which enhance the level of knowledge, education and career opportunity in healthcare.

Fran Feltner

Established by state legislation in 1990 to address health disparities in rural Kentucky, including a chronic shortage of health professionals and residents’ poor health status.  For more than two decades, the Center has partnered with communities, providers, students and individuals to provide health professions education, health policy research, healthcare service and community engagement toward reaching this mission.


The Hall Render Leadership in Healthcare Award
Presented to a progressive and entrepreneurial individual who is not afraid to take risks and whose job performance is considered exemplary by providers, patients and peers.

President and CEO
Marcum & Wallace Memorial Hospital

For over 30 years Susan Starling has dedicated her career to rural healthcare, and for the past 16 years she has served as CEO of MWMH.  During her tenure as CEO, Starling raised the quality of care, expanded services, improved access, and transformed MWMH from a hospital that was closing their doors to a financially stable organization.

The Seven Counties Services Health Advocacy Award
Presented to an individual or organization that has worked to raise awareness of health challenges in our region and worked to affect change.

Louisville Metro Department of Corrections

Recognized for his innovative “outside the box” thinking when it comes to serving the high-risk, high-needs individuals incarcerated in the Louisville Metro Community. A firm believer in “doing the right thing” when it comes to assisting individuals being released from LMDC custody with successful reintegration into the community by placing them in pathways that provide them the necessary tools to achieve success.


The Hospice of the Bluegrass Aging Care Award
Presented to an organization that has advanced the level of care for the senior community through innovative methods resulting in reduced costs and improved quality of care.

Represents a new era of healthcare and wellness for the region we serve.  Serves the medical needs of twelve counties in western Kentucky and two counties in southern Indiana.



The Kentucky Life Sciences Council Healthcare Innovation Award
Presented to an organization that has developed a new procedure, device, service, program or treatment that improves the delivery of care.

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield created the Enhanced Personal Health Care (EPHC) program has fundamentally changed the relationship with primary care physicians with this significant investment in their practices.



The Physician of the Year Award
Presented to a physician who has shown outstanding leadership and vision and has contributed to their workplace leaving a lasting legacy.

Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Sweet provides medical leadership to a large non-profit behavioral health organization. Despite the significant administrative role,  she also continues do what she loves best about medicine which is provide direct care to the underserved in rural Kentucky.

The Nurse of the Year Award
Presented to a nurse who has gone above and beyond their normal responsibilities to improve best practices and contribute to patient education.

5Sandy Mathis 
Palliative Care Coordinator
Hospice of the Bluegrass

Sandy Mathis has been a nurse dedicated to improving lives for 54 years. Her vocational calling to nursing included a special interest in improving care for the terminally ill. Mathis has served terminally ill patients and their families since 1963. She started a hospice in Harlan County,  serves with Hospice of the Bluegrass, initiated the Hospice Nurse Liaison program at Central Baptist (now Baptist Health Lexington), and coordinated the collaborative development of palliative care in the acute care setting with Central Baptist and Hospice of the Bluegrass.


 Don’t miss this chance to celebrate with the honorees, as well as past winners, finalists and nominees.  This year we are celebrating 10 years – that’s more’ than 80 winners. buy-tickets-button_blue

Purchase tickets and tables TODAY at


Related posts